music

when we lived in baltimore and many of the significant people in my live were out playing various kinds of gigs, new music came to me. i had the same experience when i was the music director for the tiny radio station at my alma mater. here in bloomington, big acts don’t play, smaller acts come rarely, and the local DJs that i have heard make me want to slap their hands from the turntables, and give it a try myself.

so i’ve been trying to find some new things to listen to, but i find even that can be a pain in the ass here in the midwest. i like to listen before i buy, and i like to buy local, so if there’s no place for me to hear a track or album, or if it’s not carried anywhere…well you see where i’m going with this.

some things that i’ve been enjoying lately:

Albums

– TV on the Radio, Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes. The whole album is fantastic, however Staring at the Sun, kind of makes my eyes roll to the back of my head.

– PJ Harvey, Uh Huh Her. Pocket Knife is especially fabulous. There’s an interview with her in Bust mag, this fall.

– !!!, Louden Up Now. Especially, Pardon My Freedom & Me & Giuliani Down by the School Yard.

– the Grey Album. Still hot.

Individual Tracks

– Peaches, Fuck the Pain Away. I know it’s old, but it does make me want to pole dance and it’s funny in a dark and depressing kind of way.

– Bishop Allen, Little Black Ache. It want to buy into the preppy look currently being pushed for fall.

– Aesop Rock, Lucy. Again, I know – old. but i love the message of this song.

2 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    I heard Staring at the Sun on difusion and had forgot how much I liked it until I stole that CD in class (Its mine you can’t have it back!) and have been jocking ever since. -B00ger

  2. I’ve had a hard time getting into “Uh Huh Her” except for “the letter”. I keep listening to it and thinking “wow PJ is doing some neat stuff here” (re: “Life & Death of Mr. Badmouth” and “Desperate Kingdom of Love”) but then I’m like WTF? (“Who the Fuck?” and “Cat on a Wall”).

    Good but not great but definitely an interesting album (if not one that will land in my favorites category).

Leave a Reply

