Tilapia Time


tilapia

Originally uploaded by l@in.
While I chose to give up eating other forms of meat a few years ago, it was really difficult to give up fish. I love fish and used to work at a mom and pop fish restaurant where I was regularly fed fresh caught fish every shift. About the time I had resolved to really give it up for good and had been doing pretty well with it, I got my cancer diagnosis. Thanks to a Komen Foundation Grant, I had the opportunity to see a nutritionist for free which changed the way I eat. The nutrients in fish, especially the omega-3 fatty acids are something my body really needs. There are other ways to get it, and I was told eat flax meal pretty much every day, and regularly consume both eggs and walnuts in moderation, in addition to having fish at least 3 times a week.

I still kind of feel bad about eating fish, but since it appears to be a health issue, I do it. And I won’t lie – I enjoy it. The other day I had some success with a baked tilapia dish which I thought turned out well enough to share.

Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia

* 1 tablespoon olive oil
* 4 (4 ounce) fillets tilapia
* 1 (10 ounce) can diced tomatoes with green chile peppers
* 1 lime, juiced
* 4 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro
* 1 lime, thinly sliced
* 1/2 medium onion sliced into long strips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Coat one side of 4 (8×10 inch) pieces of aluminum foil with olive oil.

Center each fillet on a foil square. Spoon a generous amount of diced tomatoes with juices over fish. Add onions and sprinkle with lime juice and cilantro. Position 2 slices of lime on top of each fillet. Close and seal foil packets, and place on a baking tray.

Bake in preheated oven for approximately 20 minutes, or until fish flakes easily with a fork.

I sauteed some zucchini with a little butter, salt, pepper, dill, fresh cilantro and topped it with lemon juice as a side dish. It was also quite yummy.

Incidentally, I’ve signed up to participate in the National Race for the Cure this June. It’s only 6 weeks after my mastectomy, so I’m hoping to run, but will be happy to walk if my plastic surgeon insists on it. I’d be honored if you considered making a donation.

Leave a Reply

