confession

So I haven’t been around much recently. What have I been doing? I’ve been bouncing back and forth between work, and the doctor, and the hospital getting medical tests. It has been, as you can imagine, a really awesome time.

I mentioned before the fibroid that’s near my spine. My surgeon does not think that this is the cause of my back pain and I agreed to investigate the pain via two other routes – treat it like general back pain, and simultaneously see if the pain is cancer related (scary, scary).

So last Wednesday I had a lumbar MRI and a bone scan. The bone scan was clean but there were lesions on two vertebrae, so his past Monday I followed up with a PET scan. This series of testing was nerve-wracking to say the least, the type of breast cancer I have is supposed to be self contained – anything else would mean that I was dealing with an entirely different animal.

Fortunately the lesions turned out to be benign hemangiomas, which was excellent, excellent news. The downside is that I still have back pain, and I’ll have to seek out an orthopedist once my scheduled surgery is behind me.

The PET scan was a bit of a trip though – I spent the day being radioactive and was supposed to stay 7-8 feet away from infants and pregnant women. After the test I met Pete for lunch and he played baby deflector when we went to get mexican fast food.

So that’s what I’ve been doing. What have you been up to?

2 comments
  1. Winona said:

    Yay for the good news. When you’re radioactive, do you glow in the dark or under a black light… or shoot spider webs from your wrists?

  2. m00se said:

    sadly for my trial i have no super spidey powers and i did not glow. i was kinda disappointed.

Leave a Reply

