national race for the cure

I know, I know, it’s been a few days. I’ve been busy and my internet connection from home is still spotty. Whatever.

Saturday was the National Race for the Cure. I walked with the Young Survival Coalition’s DC Chapter (incidentally we raised almost $6000. yay!). The start for walkers was 8:15 so we attempted to get there to meet the rest of the team at 6:50AM – but we got there closer to 7:15. Regardless, it still meant getting up at 5:30AM on a Saturday, which is less than fun. The day was gorgeous, but as soon as the fog burned off, it became incredibly hot very quickly. Considering the torrential downpour we were treated with on Sunday, walking in under the blazing sun certainly beats walking in heavy rain, but even with the sunscreen I wore I kept thinking of all of us upping our potential melanoma risk out there walking for breast cancer, but that’s another story all together. It was only a 5K but there were so many people that it took my team almost 2 hours to get to the finish line. The bib pick-up tent was organized by number, the final set being 64,000+. It was a slow, hot walk.

With lots of strollers. I even saw a dog in a stroller which I thought was a little weird. There were lots of teams walking which was nice to see. Overall morale was high, the route was pleasant, and the people were nice.

I really think running is the way to go if you can do it. Hopefully next year I’ll be recovered enough to run. Thanks for the support and donations. I really appreciate it.

(I just had to post this picture. Ronald McDonald was one of the first things I saw when we arrived. I was barely awake, making it extra creepy. Yeah, don’t eat red meat, or fried food, or lots of fat…so, don’t eat McDonald’s? Nothing like keeping up appearances.)

4 comments
  1. I am amazed at your strength and I’m proud of you. Thank you for doing this.

    If I’d gone, I would have turn around and RAN the other way if I saw Ronald McDonald or any other clowns!

    Good going!~

  2. m00se said:

    Thanks, RS!

    The Ronald McDonald thing was a bit disturbing. At least there was no McDonald’s food there!

  3. Julia said:

    It sounds like it was a good time despite the heat, sun and clowns (why is it that its pretty much a universal sentiment that Ronald McDonald is kinda pervy? Not that I disagree…!) Anyway, good for you, and I’m already rooting for you for next year too!

  4. oz said:

    awesome – that is what you are!

    hehe – barnaby could totally use the doggy stroller.

Leave a Reply

