librarians – they eat dinner


plated seafood enchiladas

Originally uploaded by l@in.

For the past few months I’ve been fooling around with different enchilada fillings. After a dinner at a decent mexican place on U street, I decided to experiment with my own version of seafood enchiladas. I wanted to make something yummy with lots of protein using ingredients that I could easily have on hand. This resulted in using canned crab meat and tiny shrimp. They turned out pretty well. I’d definitely make them again.

Ingredients:

1 can crab meat
1 can baby shirmp
1 can black beans
1/2 medium onion
3 large mushrooms
6-8 oz. grated cheese of choice (i used a mix of colby jack and sharp cheddar. i think next time i might try a soft, white mexican cheese)
approx. 1 1/2 C. cooked brown rice
8 6-inch tortilla shells (i used whole wheat)
1 can enchilada sauce of choice
1 container salsa of choice (i used a sweet black bean and corn salsa)
tabasco sauce
cumin
salt
vegetable oil for frying
avocado (optional, yummy garnish)

Roughly chop the mushrooms and onions and fry with tabasco, salt, and cumin to taste until the onions are translucent. Mix crab meat and shrimp. Pour 1/4 can of enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Place a small amount of oil in a wide flat frying pan and heat each tortilla one by one approx. 20 seconds on each side. Once the tortilla is heated transfer to a plate for assembly. Place a small amount of brown rice, black beans, seafood mix, onions and mushrooms, in a line on one end of the tortilla. Top with cheese and then salsa. Fold up the sides and roll the enchilada. (You’re on your own with this one. It’s kind of a pain in the ass. Practice makes perfect. This is why you should make them a lot. Why the hell do you think I’ve been experimenting with different fillings?) Place the enchilada seam side down in the pan until all of the tortillas are used. Top pan full of enchiladas with the remainder of the enchilada sauce and cheese.

Bake for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Serve with chips and salsa and some nice avocado slices. And dos equis or tecate even. Corona is nasty.

17 comments
  1. Thom said:

    Sounds delish, but I would definitely get sick in a hurry I feel. Mexican doesn’t agree with me. Ok, sorry TMI.

  2. m00se said:

    I think they look way more rich than they actually were. The enchiladas I had on I street had more of a queso sauce were a little over-the-top as far as richness was concerned in my opinion. Hence the red sauces and salsa, and sharp cheese.

    But if it’s just the spice that makes you ill… that’s a different animal all together. :)

  3. Pete said:

    THIS RECIPE ISN’T SUFFICIENTLY POLITICAL STOP PAYING ATTENTION TO HOW YOUR FOOD TASTES.

  4. m00se said:

    ha! i read fast food nation. it made me hungry…

  5. Thom said:

    I love the Juicy Juice commercial with the kid dressed up saying “I’m high fructose corn syrup. I’m not natural.”

  6. m00se said:

    you know, i don’t think i’ve seen that.

  7. bill said:

    This does sound delicious. And I love your post title.

  8. m00se said:

    if anyone should take a stab at this i’d love to know how it worked out.

  9. Thom said:

    I think it’s the tabasco sauce about which I’m blanching. This actually doesn’t look that heavy when you make it. I hear you about the Mexican you receive in restaurants. At least here you don’t use lard. And generally in dishes like this like a milder cheese. I wonder how it would taste, if you dry out the shrimp and marinate it in a cilantro-lime sauce.

  10. m00se said:

    Thom,

    I bet it would be good with the shrimp in a cilantro-lime sauce. At that point the salsa wouldn’t really be necessary and a soft white cheese would be excellent and not overwhelming. I used teeny canned shrimp, but i bet if you used a medium shrimp and marinated it in your sauce, cut out the sauteed onions and mushrooms and used chopped green onions instead it would be a really nice dish. Esp if you served it with a nice avocado, tomato, and onion salad.

  11. Thom said:

    It’s kinda getting out of the enchilada then, but tasty I bet. And perhaps, a bit more natural then using salsa out of the can. heh, guess I’ve been watching too much Food Network. Is there such a thing?! You have to come to Cville sometime, there are some great restaurants there!

  12. m00se said:

    yeah i think we’ve just established an entirely different dish. i’d love to checkout cville.

  13. Thom said:

    I’ve eaten at Wild Greens. It’s wonderful. I had the basil pesto shrimp and portobello mushroom. To die for! There’s a Cuban cafĂ© downtown too, which makes a mean brunch with Cuban potatoes.

  14. m00se said:

    omg. wild greens looks great, esp. the fried oyster salad! and i’ve never had cuban. sounds awesome to me.

  15. Anna said:

    Hey Sarah, These sound amazing. I too have been futzing with enchilada recipes lately, but haven’t featured into seafood filling – this is great inspiration.

  16. Nico in NOLA said:

    Hey Librarian!
    They look fantastic! Being down on the gulf, I’ll probably go with fresh shrimp as they’re cheap and readily available. As for stomach upset: lactaid is my friend…

  17. m00se said:

    hey hey!

    it must be so nice to have cheap fresh shrimp available. i think i’d end up eating it all the time. if you try it, you’ll have to let me know how it went.

    nice to hear from you! hope you’re enjoying NOLA!!

Leave a Reply

