It’s here

It was lost on me until just yesterday that I’ll be recovering from my second mastectomy during breast cancer awareness month.

I have mixed feelings on the month, most of which are summed up in Barbara Ehrenreich’s brilliant essay, Welcome to Cancerland: A Mammogram Leads to a Cult of Pink Kitsch. I’ll be thinking about this throughout the month and certainly posting about it more, as it’s my first BC awareness month after my own first cancerversary.

I will say this, though I don’t think sending in your crusty yogurt lid, or buying a pink blender can be classified as part of a movement and is just another sad commodification of a serious, and life-altering situation.

Sending a check to an organization of your choice, volunteering, or offering assistance to a person who needs your help or a pick-me-up in the form of a card, flowers, a cup of tea and some company is far better in my opinion then buying a pink spatula and feeling like you did your part.

1 comment
  1. kendra said:

    i forgot that this was breast cancer awareness month. thanks for the article about pink kitsch, it’s somewhat annoying how much of it is around and how little it seems to help the situation when you’re actually going through treatment for breast cancer. i agree that buying somebody tea or just being supportive would be a lot more meaningful.

Leave a Reply

