drains are pulled!


jackson-pratts

Originally uploaded by l@in.
woo hoo!

I went to see the wonderful nurse at my plastic surgeon’s office and she pulled pulled my jackson-pratts. By the time I went in today I was draining well under the 20-30ml of fluid in 24 hours required to have them removed. Hopefully there won’t be a fluid build up like last time which required emergency drain re-insertion. I feel like in April I had them removed 5-7 days post mastectomy. This time I had them in for 13 days so, cross your fingers.

I still can’t shower until Saturday morning (it’s worse than a camping trip) but it feels amazing not to have this constant pulling around the exit area of the drains and the stitches that attached them to me. While there’s still pain, it’s no longer constant. This is quite a boon, not to mention that I no longer have to find places to hide them in my clothes when going out in public. This time, the drain tubes were long enough that I could tuck them into the back or side of my skirt or slacks, which just made my ass look lumpy.

Again – it’s nice to have them out.

4 comments
  1. amy said:

    W00t! I have my fingers crossed that you won’t need them re-inserted. Sounds like you are doing much better….we think of you often:)

  2. Carrie said:

    Woo hoo! I know you are happy to have those suckers out. I am happy for you.

  3. Anne said:

    hey Sarah! boy, this will teach me to stop checking someone’s blog just because they go on hiatus for a while… I’d lost track of you and just happened to click over here tonight, and got caught up. funny, you had just crossed my mind the other day for some reason. anyway, sending healing thoughts in your direction from back here in Bloomington. as always, I admire how you live your life.
    take good care,
    -Anne

  4. m00se said:

    Thanks for all the good thoughts, all. You can be assured that it continues to feel amazing to have those drains out. There’s a little fluid build up right now, but that’s normal to some degree, so I hope it doesn’t get out of control as it did last time. I can tell you that the two gaping holes that I have in my side where the drains used to live are a little creepy.

    Anne – it’s great to know that you’re still reading. I keep up with your blog as well. I am continually inspired by your writing.

Leave a Reply

