random per-blogging

The last few weeks have been a little whirlwind with starting a new job and finally getting back to feeling more normal after my last surgery. I’ve recently gotten a gym membership and have been going off and on for the past three weeks. Even though for the first week and a half I was only walking on the treadmill, I developed a little bruising and would be in so much pain the day after that I had to go visit my plastic surgeon. Apparently all was well, but the internal sutures hadn’t dissolved yet, so were causing all the trouble. My surgeon gave me a refill on my Valium prescription to take as needed. The combination of that and the dissolving sutures (you can seriously tell that they’re slowly going away because they’re poking out of my skin) has allowed me to exercise more often and for a longer period of time, which at this point, feels like a luxury. The next surgery is scheduled for December 20th – looks like I’ll be getting new boobs for Christmas.

This weekend I saw Ani Difranco at the Meyerhoff. It was a great show. I love to see how she adapts her show to the space in which she’s playing. I also got to eat at one of my favorite Top 5, Top 5 restaurants – the Helmand. I haven’t been there in years, but the food is still amazing. Four of us had bread, appetizers, an entree, wine, and Turkish coffee for $30 a person including tip. It’s quite a deal.

pretzel dogSpeaking of food I seem, to have developed a slight addiction to pretzel dogs. If you like tofu dogs, you should really try these little things. They’re quite yummy, and relatively healthy. It’s too bad that I’m not supposed to have a serving of soy more than once a week or I think I’d be eating them all the time… now that I’m thinking about it, maybe it a really good thing I’ve got to limit my soy intake…

I think I’m fighting off a cold, so I’ve got the first pot of vegetable soup of the season on the stove, and I think it’s off to bed with me early tonight.

Leave a Reply

