for dinner tonight

…posted because I always have to dig through my email for it. No longer!

Moosewood Red, Gold, Black and Green Chili – adapted

28 oz. undrained canned tomatoes
2 tablespoons olive oil or vegetable oil
3 cups chopped onion
3 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1 generous teaspoon ground cumin
1 generous teaspoon chili powder
1 tablespoon Tabasco or other hot pepper sauce, or 1/4 tabelspoon
cayenne (I used the cayenne)

2 zucchini, chopped into small cubes
2 cups fresh or frozen cut corn
14 ounce can cooked black beans, drained
14 ounce can cooked red kidney beans, drained
salt to taste

Optional:
Grated Chessar or Monterey Jack Cheese (i didn’t use)
Chopped Fresh Cilantro (i didn’t use)

1. heat the olive oil in a large pan and saute’ the onions, garlic,
cumin, chili powder, and tabasco or cayenne
2. When the onions are soft, stir in the zucchini and saute until semi-soft.
3. Chop the tomatoes right in the can and add them to the pan. Stir
in the corn and beans.
4. Heat thoroughly on low heat.
5. Cover and simmer for a few minutes for the flavors to meld. Add
salt to taste.
6. Serve plain or topped with grated cheese and fresh cilantro

Enjoy!

5 comments
  1. 1L said:

    yum – sounds awesome! and i love eating chili when it’s warm out!! :)

  2. keely said:

    That’s my favorite chili recipe. My version is a bit adapted too. I’ve made it so much at this point I no longer need to reference the recipe. BTW, it is even yummier in the days after cooking, and it freezes really well.

    I hope you enjoyed your dinner!

  3. m00se said:

    Yeah, they’re actually my adaptations. I emailed them to someone and never wrote them down for myself. I actually got dinner made for me last night (yay!) so chili for dinner tonight. And it does freeze really, really well. My plan is to make a large batch and do just that.

    What changes do you make to the recipe?

  4. keely said:

    I believe the recipe calls for two green peppers, but I always use one green and one red. I use hot sauce for the spice, but much more than the one Tbs, and I usually increase the garlic a bit too.

    Why don’t you use the wheat bulger? I’m curious because I’ve always loved the texture it brings to the chili.

  5. m00se said:

    I think that when I made it the first time, I either forgot or couldn’t find the bulger. Often I either make it really thick anyway or serve it over mashed potatoes or brown rice to make up for the bulger. I need to try it though.

Leave a Reply

